South Rangitikei Kāhui Ako (Community of Learning)

Rangitikei College is a member of the Southern Rangitikei Kāhui Ako.  This is a grouping of local schools (nine primary schools and us) who are committed to working cooperatively together to improve educational outcomes for all young people in our region.  

Vision statement

A community that promotes collaboration through Manaakitanga and Whanaungatanga to engage and empower learners.

Achievement Challenges

After much consultation with the community and individual schools, we have adopted three ‘achievement challenges’ that all schools in our region want to develop further and see as priorities for raising the achievement of our young people.  These challenges are:

1.Building Teacher and Learner Efficacy (capability and confidence)

2.Developing and& Strengthening Cultural Revitalisation

3.Developing Our Localised Curriculum through Place Based Learning

Goal: By 2020 our Kāhui Ako will have developed systems that challenge and address educational inequities by applying unified assessment practices, teaching progressions and pathways between levels and schools.

Goal: By 2019 the outcomes of Kāhui Ako inquiries have led to the development of a cultural revitalisation professional learning framework for all kaiako (teachers) and kura (schools) to implement and deepen over time.

Our vision: When learning is tailored for and with students at the centre, based on who they are, their interests, and their needs, they can participate more fully in learning. Creative and stimulating learning environments and contexts are key to supporting a secure cultural identity and success for all.

Goal: By 2019 Kāhui Ako kaiako (teachers) will have embedded teaching and learning programmes that connect with the histories, whenua (land) and tikanga (customs and practices) of the Rangitikei.

Principals of the Southern Rangitikei Kāhui Ako:

Back: Michelle Cameron (James Cook), Vanessa Te Ua (Marton Junction), Colleen Dalley (Hunterville), Kim Gordon (Bulls), Brya Dixon (Marton)

Front: Tony Booker (Rangitikei College), Leigh McKay (Turakina), Tom Sheehan (St Matthew’s), Adrian Burn (Clifton), Greg Allan (South Makirikiri)


This product has been added to your cart